Since this Basadi was built of rock stones, this creation is called “Kallu Basadi”. Because this Basadi has palatical courtyard it is known as “Dodda Basadi” (Big Basadi) also. There is a shanthinatha, 5ft. statue, which is pleasing to the eyes. On the either sides of statue there are rock formations of Yasha Garuda and Yakshi Mahamanasi. Also, in the Basadi stands the statues of other two theerthankaras namely, Mahaveera and Chandranatha. There stands an inscription below the pedastal of 24 broze statues of Theerthankaras.In this basadi there are two specific descriptions. According to the inscription of 1489 A.D., we also get the information that Venur was know as “Punjalike Rajya”
In another inscrption there is the mention of the particulars of the donations given. In the year 1621, in the month of october on the 6th day, King Ramanatha of the period of Madhurakka Devi who ruled over the Kingdom of Punjalike, donated gifts in the presence of 16 Shresis (Merchant Class) who were subordinated with 360 businessmen. The inscription says this donation stands till moon and sun exits. The inscription on the right side of the Theerthankara Basadi reads: “It was built in the year 1537. The pedestal on which the statues of the Theerthankaras stand, is know as “Hari Peeta”. The exteriors of the entrance was built of slate rock. Inside the sanctum sanctorium stands Padmavathi Devi statue on the left side and Saraswathy Statue on the right. Due to this Basadi is well known as “Ammanavara Basadi”. The inscription plate was erected by queen Madhurakka Devi in the year 1621. To perform the panchamritha puja to Shantheeshwara and Nirvanjana to vardhamana, Ramanatha donated Rs.400/- through the hands of queen Madhurakka Devi. On the left side of the Shanteeshwara Basadi, there exists Vrishabhanatha Basadi. The Theerthankara statue of the padmasana posture in the meditation stance is unique.